Skip to content

Bad things happen

February 20, 2009

I was let go from my very part-time job.  I say let go, because they took the very not classy route of lying about how someone had said something about me this week…when they accidentally deposited my final paycheck last week.  Why is it so dreadfully painful to say the honest truth, ‘we just don’t like you so we’re letting you go.  Nothing personal.’

Still, I’m getting married in less than two months, I have a new apartment I love, and I’m very excited about a book my boss has let me try to sell.  Ok, that sounds a little bit like, “I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and gosh darn it, people like me!”  The point is that whenever things go really well, I always feel that I have to be punished by having something terrible happen in contrast.

The thing of tonight is that the loss of this job wasn’t that bad in the scheme of things.  It hardly paid anything, required me to get up at 7am on Sunday, and I was understandably stressed about the bad work environment for over a month now.  Really, the worst of it was that was humiliation being attacked by my former, even if I knew he was lying through his teeth (and you’re never as suave or snappy as you’d like in that sort of situation).  While I’ve got my fiance and dream job and health and great friends, if this is the worst coming my way, I should be happier than most people in this country right now.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Susan Sewell permalink
    February 20, 2009 3:02 pm

    Run, don’t walk, to your nearest children’s book store and read Zen Tales. It’s a picture book with a big Panda on the front. It will change your life.

Leave a Reply

