Skip to content

Delta Airlines (Northwest) screws my mom out of $500 for getting cancer

April 5, 2009

My mom was supposed to fly to Poland last week to help prepare for my wedding, but unfortunately, she got cancer.  So for the last couple weeks, she’s been recovering from very major surgery to remove the cancer which included a serious complication in the hospital.

Now, she bought her tickets from Northwest, but I’m not going to be angry with Northwest because Delta owns them now and by the depressed way they look and sound at the NWA counter these days, working for Delta is not “a good time”.

A friend of ours called to change the tickets (as both of us were in the hospital), and the Delta representative told her that my mother would not be charged for changing her ticket, provided that she could provide documentation in person.  Which she did.  Surprise, Delta told my mom that they would wave the $300 ticket change fee, and provide wheelchair assistance, but that the price had gone up $500 in SEVEN DAYS and she would have to pay it.

Enjoy that $500 dollars you got from my mom, Delta Airlines.  Considering the financial state of airlines, I’m not terribly surprised you chose to make money off of a mother with cancer trying to get to her only daughter’s wedding, but that doesn’t still mean that I’m very disappointed with you and that what you did isn’t morally reprehensible.

Delta sucks.  Delta airlines complaints.  I hate Delta airlines.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2009 1:13 am

    That is disgusting. I would contact one of the news stations/programs that helps fight these sorts of things. Help me Howard, 7 on your side…somebody like that. She needs to get that money back! I’d also write a letter to the President of the company.

    Good luck. Hope you had a nice wedding- and most of all- hope your Mom is doing well 🙂

  2. MIkie permalink
    April 5, 2009 11:37 am

    Sounds like a crock story to me with a lot of missing details. Perhaps this chap should have gotten involved to help his mother to check out the information. He has time to blog, but no time for his mother???

  3. dottiemakesmagic permalink
    April 6, 2009 6:57 am

    that is terrible!!

  4. April 7, 2009 5:11 am

    It’s my understanding that when they changed the ticket for your Mom, the price of the fare had risen $500? Many airlines charge higher prices on certain days rather than others (lowest prices tend to be on Tues / Thurs). Even if that was the case, Delta should still value your Mom as a customer and should have waived the $500 as well – most airlines aren’t that mean. I’m sorry to hear about that.

  5. rosezilla permalink
    April 12, 2009 7:25 pm

    Well, MIKie, considering this blog is called “ROSE in New York” and you think I’m a “chap”, I don’t think we can exactly trust you on getting any details right, can we?

  6. rosezilla permalink
    April 12, 2009 7:30 pm

    Hey Jonathan,

    I agree, and would understand if she switched from, say, a Wednesday to Sunday, or March to June. But she switched EXACTLY one week later, from Tuesday to Tuesday. Now they told her that up to 3/31 was off season, and 4/1 was the “shoulder”, but I definitely think that considering it was only one week, and the circumstances, they could have been far more delicate. Thanks for the comments!

Leave a Reply

