Skip to content

Wedding in Poland

April 12, 2009

I’ve been resisting posting about my wedding in Poland, because, for one thing, I’m in a tiny town in Poland where I normally wouldn’t even bring my laptop.  For another, I was supposed to get off the internet, but then I realized I’ve been twittering (@balticprincess) and Facebooking, so I might as well post.

I’m getting married on April 18th, 2008, and my wedding is in Sandomierz, Poland in the Cathedral Basilica of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Sandomierz (aka Bazylika katedralna Narodzenia NMP w Sandomierzu).  My wedding is in the awesome Pod Cizemka, a wonderful hotel and restaurant in the center of the old town.

As the unofficial mouthpiece for Sandomierz, what else can I say?  It’s about 3 hours south of Warsaw, and man, is Polish transportation infrastructure going to hell.  The trains are getting slower and less frequent, and no one is working on the roads.  If you get the Sandomierz, there’s a bunch of great hotels, roughly 8 billion churches to visit, and the Forearm Park.  I swear, I can’t believe this is for real, but apparently there’s a park in Sandomierz that’s named after all the forearm bones they’ve found there.  Isn’t that bizarre?  What’s more bizarre is that they built an amazing “course” in the trees with wire lines and wooden bridges, that you can go through with a special harness  that they rent for ony 8 zloty ($3).  They also have human chess, a skate park, basketball court, and food stand.  If anyone has ever been to Sandomierz, which makes Topeka, Kansas look like Manhattan, you’ll know what I’m talking about.

I’ll post pictures soon, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

