Skip to content

Model Tragedy of the Day

June 10, 2009

Oh, how we love to write and speak endlessly about the numerous problems that affect white, thin, beautiful women.  Models are forced to be far too skinny, worked until they keel over in their $15,000 shoes.  And what is the point of arguing that all the focus on anorexia and models could be used on genocide in Darfur, when models just continue to get thinner every year, almost fueled by the media attention.

Now we have a documentary by Sara Ziff called Picture Me.  Don’t get me wrong, I can’t wait to watch it.  I’ll admit it.  I want to see this for the same reason I read Perezhilton: I enjoy seeing the beautiful and untalented being tormented.  They’re never going to make documentaries about really boring temp jobs, or emotionally abusive bosses, or that guy in accounting who is a complete d!ck.  Even the two movies about thankless jobs, Nanny Diaries and Devil Wears Prada, just made me feel bad for not getting a $40,000 wardrobe or Harvard boyfriend out of my awful, thankless jobs.

Yes, it’s really sad that 14-year-olds get pawed at photoshoots where they make $10,000 a day.  When I was 14, I had to work eight hours in the heat at a drive-inn, and I dumped a rootbeer.  The owners screamed at me.  Then I would have to watch the very obese owner constantly adjust his balls.  And then I was biking the mile to work and fell off my bike and broke my nose.

I got paid $5.75 an hour plus tips.

By the way, this movie has already been made.  Showgirls, anyone?  Sexual harrassment, rape at fabulous parties, bonus broken, weight harrassment.  When they show Picture Me on TNT, will they put fake, beige bras over the breasts?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

