Skip to content

New York State Unemployment: Please, please, please pay me now

June 29, 2009

So, next week is the three month mark in waiting for my unemployment.

You read that right: THREE MONTHS.

The worst part is when my family asks me ‘what’s going on with your unemployment.’  I call.  After 15 minutes in the phone tree, I get hung up on, and I call again.  I get told that it will be processed by the end of the week.  That was two weeks ago.

Really, what am I supposed to do?  I worked, I’m legally owed money.  I’m not invoking moral standards or socio-political arguments.  It’s a pretty simple legal concept: I work for a set amount of time, my employers pay unemployment insurance, I lose my job, I receive unemployment.  What happens when that system breaks down?  How am I to fight against an eternally ‘pending’ application?  Do I drive to Albany and camp out on the steps?  As far as I can tell, that’s the next reasonable step…..

One Comment leave one →
  1. Rita permalink
    July 29, 2009 1:09 am

    I am also in the same boat. Do you have any idea why your claim is pending? In my case I did some work for educational institutions…although it was not fulltime and I am not assured of a job in Sept. It’s awful.

Leave a Reply

